You are here :: Go-Ferry » Amorgos » History »


History

Amorgos is the island of “The Big Blue” (here was filmed the homonym movie) and is located on the southeastern edge of the Cyclades. Its mountains, its impressive rock slopes, the mountain slopes where plants are cultivated, its steep coasts in the south side and the scenic bays with their beautiful beaches compose Amorgos landscape.
The island was inhabited in the Prehistoric Period and flourished during the period of the Cycladic civilization. At that time it developed trade, shipping and arts. Three very important ancient cities Minoa, Arkesini and Aigiali were situated here. Amorgos was a place of exile during Roman period. Panagia Chozoviotissa Monastery was built during Byzantine period and since then it is the island’s “emblem”. During the Frank occupation the island tolerated many invasions. In the 16th century it was occupied by Ottomans and after centuries its inhabitants took part in the 1821 War of Indipendence. The island’s villages still preserve the traditional Cycladic architecture and revive local customs and music tradition. Its organized signaled pathways offer visitors the opportunity to see its monuments and natural beauties. The island extends over a surface of 121 km2, its coastline is 112 km long and it has 1,850 inhabitants. The island’s highest top is Krikerillos (821 m).
 
Website: www.amorgos.gr
/faq.html
/16-people-en.html
/why-goferry.html
Copyright © 2010 goferry.gr® | All rights reserved Powered by: Protostep Ltd.
Web Development & Web Design by webprofile